Nissan first to win JSPC 3 years in a row

JSPC is an abbreviation for the All Japan Sports Prototype Car Endurance Championship, a national championship contested by Group C cars. In Japan, races in this category started in 1982 as an endurance series, which became very popular with the later success of the WEC in JAPAN (World Endurance Championship Japan Tournament).
At first Porsche, the Le Mans champion, dominated the JSPC events, but Japanese machines gradually built up power and speed, and in 1990 the YHP Nissan R90CP (Hasemi team) became the first Japanese car to win the trophy. In 1991 and 1992, the Calsonic Nissan R90CP (Hoshino team) romped home, meaning that for three years running Nissan was undisputed leader in the Constructor’s and Driver’s Championships. In 1992, the last year of the All Japan Championship, Nissan machines swept the field with wins in all 6 races (Turbo class), demonstrating the superb reliability of its cars.

Fuel economy is an important factor in an endurance race, so telemetry systems were used for JSPC races.